Comedy: Last News

+5

Kramers Celebrates Pride Month All June

Queerly Beloved focuses on a weddings-obsessed, semi-closeted baker/bartender and the challenges she faces as a result of falling in love with a charming female newcomer to town.Tonight, June 14, at 7 p.m., Kramers presents “In Conversation with Susie Dumond,” in which the author will read from and take questions about the book, which was hailed by Publishers Weekly as a “funny and moving debut rom-com [offering a] seamless blend of serious issues, humor, and love.”A week later, Tuesday, June 21, at 7 p.m., the iconic Dupont Circle bookstore presents a discussion with another new LGBTQ author. Labeled “a welcome new voice” by Kirkus Reviews, Rob Osler will read from and discuss The Devil’s Chew Toy, touted as “a fresh new take on the gay mystery,” with special appeal to fans of Casey McQuiston and Armistead Maupin.The Devil’s Chew Toy, to quote the official description, is “a light, LGBT mystery that follows an unlucky in love — and life — teacher who unwittingly ends up the prime suspect in a disappearance.”‘Kramers also continues to host shows by Grassroots Comedy, including the organization’s new “weekly-ish comedy and storytelling showcase for causes in need” called HOPIN’ MIC.
metroweekly.com

Related News

metro.co.uk
Katherine Ryan hopes trans community don’t feel ‘attacked’ by jokes after Ricky Gervais controversy
Katherine Ryan has addressed the recent controversy surrounding jokes about the trans community, saying that she doesn’t believe comedians are bringing minority groups up ‘out of nowhere to bully them’.Last month, Ricky Gervais sparked controversy on his new Netflix special SuperNature, when he made several jibes about transgender people in his stand-up set, with two examples being when he said that ‘old-fashioned women’ are ‘the ones with wombs’ and he joked about transitioning to become ‘Vicky Gervais’.While The Office creator vowed on the programme that he supports trans rights, he was heavily criticised for his statements, while he also said on the special: ‘It’s mad to think joking about something means you’re anti-it.’Metro.co.uk recently caught up with Katherine ahead of the launch of her new Amazon Prime Video series Backstage with Katherine Ryan, asking her how she feels about the situation, considering other comedians such as Nish Kumar and James Acaster have spoken out against jokes centred on trans people in the past.‘James and Nish, those clips are old, so they were dug up and applied to a situation that was new,’ she said.‘I feel like certain conversations are taking place on a huge scale. It’s at my daughter’s school and it’s all over TikTok and it’s all over the media, so comedians are going to have to have an opinion on that, and that’s not always going to be an opinion that everyone loves.’Katherine, 38, opined that in her view, ‘it’s not as though these comedians are taking a minority group that’s out of the news and just bringing them up out of nowhere to bully them’.‘I don’t think that’s happening.
DMCA